@scheckeats: Reply to @sagenheld I think it’s worth raising the ethical questions and talking about what it means! But let’s do it informed! #cheese #vegetarian

jeremy @scheckeats
jeremy @scheckeats
Open In TikTok:
Region: US
Sunday 17 May 2020 20:05:37 GMT
227458
13813
223
252

Music

Download

Comments

123rommarana
Rommar :
No. Cheese is vegetarian, parmesan is not
2020-08-03 23:55:17
0
r0yaa
roya :
i mean i eat kosher cheese so it most likely doesn’t have rennet
2020-05-17 20:17:47
15
scheckeats
jeremy @scheckeats :
1 wheel of parmigiano weighs 90 pounds and is worth $600. A gram of rennet is like 1/4 teaspoon to make 12 wheels or $7,200 worth of cheese
2020-05-17 20:48:12
305
elbirraa
Elviraxen :
I consider it non-vegetarian because I don't really see a difference between broth and rennet. but I totally see why some people wouldn't
2020-05-17 21:49:39
29
bayboe
grace 🌹 :
as a vegetarian i think its up to individual choice. i usually check my cheeses, but not strictly, and dont eat gelatin either
2020-05-20 17:52:03
88
emilytamasii
emily :
vegetarian is just not eating meat because the dairy and egg industry still indirectly contributes to killing of animals🤷🏼‍♀️
2020-05-18 20:40:35
3
theabbyarchive
abby™ :
I’m a vegetarian and I still eat cheese with rennet for two reasons: it’s is too tedious to check every cheese I ever eat, and I like cheese too much
2020-05-18 05:44:46
36
anna_hill__
Anna :
There are brands that make vegetarian Parmesan! It isn’t authentic however, but it is vegetarian
2020-05-20 08:00:27
2
bsndfg
bsndfg :
also, the calves that are farmed for rennet are not always killed for their meat as well. the meat industry is actually quite wasteful...
2020-05-17 22:30:51
14
wallabeeway
wallabeeway :
cool
2020-05-17 20:08:00
2
hope.and.erson
hope :
we’ve also engineered bacteria to produce chymosin! So most cheese in the US & UK doesn’t actually involve harvesting it from animals. Yay for GMOs!
2020-05-20 17:58:31
2
argyllcrice
Argyll :
Me a vegetarian who doesn’t like cheese 😎
2020-05-17 20:40:13
67
taniavillanueva96
Tania Villanueva :
I don't understand why poeple don't understand the difference between VEGAN and VEGETARIAN.
2020-07-12 16:14:19
3
amanda.hlt
Amy :
I’m vegetarian and I choose not to consume cheese made with animal rennet because I believe that animals shouldn’t be killed.
2020-05-18 12:52:33
2
bsndfg
bsndfg :
any cheese in Australia that has rennet in it is NOT considered vegetarian.
2020-05-17 22:29:52
4
a.pple_.pi
🥺✌️ :
How I learned it was that vegetarian was not eating meat from animals but vegan is not eating anything that comes from animals so like cheese meat etc
2020-06-19 20:45:03
1
nadine_evans12
Nadine Evans :
It depends how strict veggie you are if you choose to eat it, but parm isn't veggie. In the same way most gummy sweets aren't as they have gelatin
2020-07-03 17:44:04
1
lilmzbroomhead
Leslie F 📚💄😻 :
I feel like this is more the difference between vegetarian and vegan. I would say parmigiano is vegetarian
2020-07-14 17:21:37
1
hiitskaya
chaya :
Kosher cheese is just dairy 👏🏼 no enzymes! For vegetarians it’s the best hack!
2020-05-26 05:48:50
2
dancing_chirimoya
Javiera Moya :
And also nowadays only cheeses that more artisanal uses rennet, usualy its made with biotecnology (bacteria)
2020-07-31 05:24:29
0
bloodinnumbers
N. Wolf :
A lot of big producers switched to microbial rennet in Europe, mainly because it loses it's ability to coagulate slower and is cheaper.
2020-08-07 21:38:29
0
spow0w
Shantellpowell98 :
I’m a vegetarian and all I eat is cheese
2020-05-18 18:03:13
0
To see more videos from user @scheckeats, please go to the Tikwm homepage.

Other Videos


About